Previously called the Northern Province, Limpopo is a  land of unrivaled natural beauty and contrasting landscapes, typical to that of Africa.

A region of infinite scenic beauty with a large diversity of both natural and man-made attractions, rich cultural heritage and untamed wildlife and nature based tourism opportunities.

Limpopo Province is located in the far Northern Part of South Africa and shares borders with three neighboring countries – namely outstandingly dramatic Botswana, the diverse Zimbabwe and the subtropical Mozambique. For this reason, the province is also known as the gateway to other African countries. The Province also shares provincial borders with Gauteng, Mpumalanga and North West provinces.

Limpopo is divided into five regions – Capricorn is the central location, Waterberg is the largest region in the province, The Vhembe region is situated in the far north while the Mopeni region is towards the Kruger National Park.

The Limpopo River flows through the Soutpansberg Region forming South Africa’s northern border and bringing life and refreshment to the many small farming villages and dry landscapes through which it meanders. The river is one of the main geographical landmarks in the region and is the third most important river in South Africa.

Differing dramatically from the rest of the province, the Valley of the Olifants in the east of the province includes the Lowveld and the Kruger National Park. The region falls into the valley of the Olifants River that works its way through the Kruger National Park and forms the southern border of the province.

Original Source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *